What is a Viewer Limit?
The various StreamSpot plans offer respective limits on concurrent viewers. Concurrent viewers are the number of live & on-demand viewers able to watch the broadcast at one time. To see how many viewers your plan allows, please refer to the "Plan Usage Summary" on the right-hand side of your MyStreamSpot Customer Portal.
What you will see at the very bottom is the amount of concurrent viewers allowed on your StreamSpot plan. Above is the most concurrent viewers you have had at one time during a broadcast. This is to help you be aware of your viewer load in the event an upgrade in plans is necessary.
What happens if I exceed my account's Viewer Limit?
The StreamSpot platform constantly monitors each broadcaster's viewer count and manages viewer limits as follows:
- If your Total Concurrent Viewers are Within 75% of Your Account's Viewer Limit
- An email is sent to all MyStreamSpot Users for the account that have not opted-out of receiving notifications and recommends that additional viewer capacity be added to the account.
- The Block and Shutdown limits are also defined in this email, see example below:
- If your Total Concurrent Viewers Exceed the Block Limit
- An email is sent to all MyStreamSpot Users for the account that have not opted-out of receiving notifications letting you know that your player and playback has been locked for any additional viewers.
- Sample of a locked player:
- Sample of a locked Venue Page:
- Sample Email Notification:
- If the total number of concurrent viewers drops below your account viewer limit, the player will be unlocked.
- If your Total Concurrent Viewers Exceeds the Shutdown Limit
- An email is sent to all MyStreamSpot Users for the account that have not opted-out of receiving notifications letting users know that the broadcast has been terminated.
- Sample Email:
How Do I Increase My Account's Viewer Limit?
Adding additional viewer capacity is easy, simply follow the instructions in the following article: How To Add Viewer Capacity
Please Note: Free trial accounts that exceed the Shutdown limit are automatically expired and require account activation to continue using StreamSpot.